I am speechless!

In 2012 I wrote a post detailing our experience in trying to get an exemption for the childcare on base when we were at Hill AFB in Utah. Emma was  almost 3 and Eion was 4. It had been such a detailed experience that I wanted to ‘map it out’, so to speak, for anyone going through it in the future (even though it wound up being much more complicated that it really should have been).

Military Vaccine Exemptions for Children

(spoiler alert, it was APPROVED)

We only wound up using the CDC (Child Development Center, not Center for Disease Control…) maybe a handful of times. Since then, we have moved to Japan (no issues with PCSing overseas, vaccines were barely even mentioned), my kids have started public school (no issues with the DoDEA school there, one sentence stating “We do not vaccinate for religious reasons” on the DoDEA Form 2492), have had to see military doctors (no pressures there) and have moved back to the states (where the kids are, again, registered in a public school with a simple state exemption form).

The biggest issue in the last 4 years since that ordeal with the CDC has been when Eion got a nasty gash on his forehead at a GoCart track last weekend. The ER nurses really were worried that he had not had a tetanus shot.

Anyway.

On a regular basis I get emails notifying me that someone has commented on that post. I’m amazed and humbled that 4+ years later that post still gets so much attention!

I was curious and looked at the stats for just that post. Since I first posted it, it has had over 900 views! Now, I know that those views can be misleading. Multiple views by the same people but on different days, multiple views by the same people but on different IP addresses (phone vs computer, etc.), but still.

In March 2016, that’s just 2 months ago, it had the highest views in one month at 249.

I feel bad some times that I’m not more active on this blog. I rarely post anymore just due to life. Then I see another comment request and I don’t feel bad any more. One of the things I feel the strongest about is still out there and still reaching people.

I call that good.

6 thoughts on “I am speechless!

  1. Thanks for sharing your experiences! I’ve recently moved to the SLC area and due to our proximity to Hill AFB, my kids are required to see a base pediatrician. I realize it’s been a few years, but when you were here did your children see a base pediatrician? Did you experience undue pressure to vaccinate? We’ve always had a civilian PCM in the past, and I’m nervous about putting my kids into the military system when they are delayed/alternative vaxxed.

    1. We did see a pediatrician on base at Hill! I’m not sure if he’s still there but his last name was Parks and he was wonderful about it. He was the one that did the kids’ exams when we were PCSing overseas. He mentioned that they were behind on vaccinations, I told him that we don’t vaccinate for religious reasons, and that was it. He just said “okay”. I was surprised that he was so easy about it so I asked and was told that they had had training recently about respecting people’s religious wishes. This was in 2013.

      We also had no issues on base in Japan. Again, there, their docs knew they weren’t up-to-date and it was no big deal, either during a regular visit or on the once or twice at the ER.

  2. We are moving to Yokota with our 4 children(1 is fully vaxxed, , 1 is partially, 2 are not vaccinated at all). We just found out and have two months to get there. My husband is AF, but we are assigned to a Navy Clinic. I’ve already met the Nurse Practitioner that is to do our general wellness exam and sign off on us and I am sick to my stomach knowing the battle I have ahead. The whole thing is for EFMP(which we are not enrolled in, never have been, nor will be). When she glanced through our records she kept giving me the eye. 😏

    Anyway, all that to say, your post on vaccines has been incredibly helpful and I am very appreciative!!

  3. I’m currently at Hill and it looks like I will need to start the Exemption process for my kids to participate with the sports at the Youth Center. Do you know…. my concern is that I have very limited time, less than 2 weeks, for basketball registration and I don’t want them to deny him to play WHILE it is being processed. Some places I’ve read they have to allow while being processed, other say, they were denied.
    .

    1. I really don’t know on that. The only time we dealt with Youth Sports registration was at Misawa and they just told us that many parents leave that part blank and no one says anything. However I have heard now that they do require it there, but, again, we’re not in Misawa anymore so I don’t even have first hand experience with that for Misawa, and NO experience for it at Hill. Sorry I can’t help more.

      1. Update…. it’s not looking good. I handed in my exemption this morning and tried to register my kids for basketball. They will not take registration nor hold a spot while the exemption is being processed. They told me they passed some along over THREE MONTHS ago and still have heard nothing back. It’s crap. Someone, somewhere is sitting on it, I’m sure. Meanwhile my oldest son will not understand why he can’t play basketball with his friends from school.

Leave a Reply

